Terrain: Ammo Dump

Here’s my Imperial ammo dump. I wanted to have a couple of different features – general boxes, crates, missiles etc and for it to look a little used and abused, but not abandoned.

Finished Ammo Dump

Missile Rack

I started with some trips to car boot sales to pick up some random small boxes and crates. I got a few old Matchbox storage containers and the like, and also some big missiles (which apparently were from some Action Man set – got 3 of them for 10p!). I decided to make a missile rack, so used a little plastic card and a few sprues.

I then laid out the boxes, containers and missiles on A4 paper, marking it all up. This included placing a few miniatures on it as well, to make sure there was room to actually get models between the boxes! From that I made a hardboard base. I use 3mm thick hardboard for most of my terrain bases. When I cut it to size I prefer to keep it fairly rough, rather than measure exactly, so the edges of the bases aren’t too harsh. A bit of light sanding smooths out the edges and rounds off the corners. I then used PVA to stick all the parts onto the base.

Ammo Dump - Layout

I added a few small boxes, control panels on the storage containers and a spot light on top of one of the containers (whatever random bits I had in my bits box). Then I PVA’d the whole base and covered it in sand.

Next was the black undercoat, then a base coat of Regal Blue on the containers, Caliban green on the boxes and missiles and Vallejo Cold Grey on the crate. Then I drybrushed the containers with Ultramarine Blue and the boxes and missiles with Snot Green. The missile rack was drybrushed with Boltgun Metal.

Ammo Dump

For the base I generally do the same for all scenery – after the black undercoat I give it a fairly heavy drybrush with burnt sienna (often 2 coats, depending on how it looks). I use a cheap craft paint from Rymans (Royal & Langnickel). At £1.09 for 59ml that’s less than 2p per ml. Compared to GW’s 20p per ml it makes it a good choice for covering large areas. The quality is fine too (although not sure if I’d want to use it for the detail of a mini). I follow that up with a drybrush of grey (same cheap brand) and finally a drybrush of almond (same cheap brand, but you could use Bleached Bone/Ushabti Bone) to pick out the highlights (this picture only has the burnt sienna at this point).

I also added some transfers – plenty of Imperial Aquilas and a few random numbers – to give things a bit more of an Imperial look about it.

Ammo Dump - Weathered

Next I wanted to make it look a bit older, so I wanted to add some weathering and rust. I used the technique described here for weathering metal. I used a small piece of sponge (from a blister pack) and ‘dabbed’ black onto areas of the containers I wanted to look chipped and rusty. I then painted a little brown onto the black. Finally, I used sepia wash to give a final weathering. It’s really good for weathering/rust where rain would pool, and for streaking down the side where rain would gather and run down.

Ammo Dump - Transfers

Ammo Dump - Transfers

The transfers looked far too ‘clean’ and sharp, given the weathered look everywhere else, so I wanted to make them look like the paint had started to flake and chip off. I used a similar technique to the weathering on the containers. I dabbed the yellow transfers with Ultramarine Blue, so it looks like the yellow paint had worn away revealing the blue underneath.

I gave the missiles some numbers, Boltgun Metal heads and tails, and a generous sepia wash on the metal to weather it. I also added more sepia wash to the grey boxes and missile rack (see 3rd pic below), and generally anywhere else that needed to look a bit more tired/rusty/weathered.

Ammo Dump - Finished

Ammo Dump - Finished

Ammo Dump - Finished

The only thing missing from these pics, is that I gave the rim of the base a solid black coat.

I hope you like the end result. I’m pretty pleased with it!

2 responses to “Terrain: Ammo Dump

  1. Pingback: Terrain: More Defensive Walls | Whittlesey 40k

  2. Pingback: Terrain: Manufactorum | Whittlesey 40k

Leave a Reply

